Religion-Related Database Descriptions
(available to TCU/Brite Div. School students and faculty)

Location unless specified: TCU Library [ lib.tcu.edu ] > Databases.

*An asterisk denotes the most important databases for Brite students
+ A plus indicates EBSCO databases that can be searched simultaneously. Click on:
http://lib.tcu.edu/research/databases.asp  > "E" > EBSCO Host Databases > (then place check mark in appropriate boxes)

+Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large, multidisciplinary database that abstracts and indexes over 9,000 journals and includes the full text of 5,500 journals. More than 4,000 of the journals are peer-reviewed.

+*ATLA Religion Database
This is the most comprehensive source of information about journal and magazine articles, essays in books, and book reviews, in the fields of theology and religious studies.

+*Christian Periodical Index
The Christian Periodical Index (CPI) is produced by the Association of Christian Librarians. Its purpose is to provide access to English language articles and reviews written for the Christian community. Beginning in 1956 with coverage of 20 titles, CPI currently indexes over 100 selected publications from the broad spectrum of knowledge including science, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, history , sociology, nursing, and education. Coverage is representative of the major doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity.

Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online contains the full text of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Works include those printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Subject areas include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

ECO (Electronic Collections Online)
Electronic Collections Online is an electronic-journals service that offers access to a growing collection of more than 5,000 titles in a wide range of subject areas, from over 70 publishers of academic and professional journals.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains searchable digitized materials for every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of American works. This comprehensive collection contains the full text of nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800.

Elenchus Bibliographicus
Search this database for citations from the Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses which is edited by the Faculteit Godgeleerdheid, K.U.Leuven and the Faculté de théologie UCL (Louvain-la-Neuve). Subjects include history of theology; history of religions; Old Testament; New Testament; fundamental theology; dogmatic theology; sacramental theology and liturgy; ascetical and mystical theology; moral theology; and canon law.

Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Edition
This 15 volume reference work is a key scholarly resource in religious studies. We have access to the online version, which can be accessed by using a title search in the TCU catalog.

Index to Jewish Periodicals
Index to Jewish Periodicals indexes Jewish history, activity and thought from more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back to 1988.

Iter
Iter is an interdisciplinary index to the journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Types of works include articles; reviews; bibliographies; catalogues; editions; abstracts; discographies; and notes.

*JSTOR
JSTOR is a major electronic journal collection consisting of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. 

*+New Testament Abstracts
Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, essays and software covering the history and criticism of the New Testament.

*+Old Testament Abstracts
Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, essays and software covering the history and criticism of the Old Testament.

*Oxford Biblical Studies Online
A large collection of Bible versions and related reference materials.

Oxford English Dictionary
The online version of the Oxford English Dictionary contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). It also contains the New Edition in progress, which is updated quarterly.

*Oxford Reference Online
A collection of reference works, including: Dictionary of the Bible; The Oxford Companion to the Bible; The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible; A Dictionary of Buddhism; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church; The Oxford Dictionary of Islam; A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion; The Oxford Companion to Philosophy; The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy; The Oxford Dictionary of Popes; The Oxford Dictionary of Saints; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions.

Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online currently has four subject modules - Philosophy, Religion, Economics and Finance, and Political Science - and offers over 700 complete and fully searchable books, with at least 200 titles to be added each year. TCU has purchased access to the full text of the Philosophy and Religion modules ONLY. For the other modules, users can view book and chapter abstracts.

+Philosopher's Index
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

Project Muse
Project MUSE is an online collection of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

*Religious and Theological Abstracts
Abstracts of articles appearing in periodical literature in the fields of religion and theology. Coverage includes a wide range of journals including Christian, Jewish, and other world religions, with English abstracts of foreign language publications.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (Online)
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a collection of Greek texts that can be searched and read online. For advanced students with a knowledge of Greek.

Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Christianity
Shares the voices of more than 50 theologians and pairs the original materials with complementary resources, including meaningful interfaith writings and scholarly analysis of archival texts. Coverage dates: Early 1900s - early 2000s.

Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Judaism
Includes the most important works and primary sources that document the evolution of Judaism. Coverage dates: 1890s - 2010s.

Wilson Select Plus
Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals, with full text online, from the Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, General Science Abstracts and Wilson Business Abstracts.

WorldCat
WorldCat is the largest single database of information about books. It contains over 45 million records and is continually expanding.