Databases by Subject/Topic:
English Literature and Composition

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Best Bets for English Literature and Composition


MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. This electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1926 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
Coverage dates: 1926 - Current.
Cross-disciplinary, scholarly electronic journal collection containing the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. Also includes thousands of eBooks. Especially strong in Arts and Sciences.
Coverage dates: Varies.
Includes information on literary figures from all time periods, covering more than 111,250 novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists. Some of the types of information included are criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews, Web sites, periodical articles, full-text author's works, and reading lists. Users can search by author and work.
Coverage dates: Varies.

More databases for English Literature and Composition


Primary source periodical literature from the UK.
Coverage dates: 1800-1900.
Primary source periodical literature from the UK.
Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 10,000+ journals and includes the full text of 6,500+ journals. 9000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed.
Coverage dates: Varies.
Contains digitized historical books, periodicals and newspapers from the American 19th Century.
Coverage dates: 19th century.
Reference source for African American Studies. Limited to 3 users at once.
Coverage dates: 1619 - Current.
High quality academic films from BroadwayHD, Milestone Films, and Sony Pictures Classics. More than 30 subcollections including Dance, Drama, History, Music, and Theatre.
Coverage dates: 1900s to present.
Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Coverage dates: 1691 - 1877.
Includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations. The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
Coverage dates: 1902 to present.
A multidisciplinary full text collection of 1100+ periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Coverage dates: 1740 - 1900.
Updated annually, this international bibliography of books, periodical articles, and dissertations covering classical antiquity indexes publications about the history, language, literature, and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome. Many entries contain short abstracts.
Coverage dates: 1969 - 2017.
An index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Coverage dates: 1981 - Current.
Indexes Australian literary content from a range of print and electronic information sources. The majority of records for literary works provide citations and library holdings information for published works. However, a range of selected full text of both creative and critical works is available.
Coverage dates: 1676 - Current.
Primary source collection of African Americans efforts to abolish slavery. With 15,000 writings and publications of nearly 300 black abolitionists from 1830-1865.
Coverage dates: 1830-1865.
Collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders covering 250 years of history.
Coverage dates: 18th century to present.
Book Review Digest Plus contains descriptive summaries of books, citations for book reviews, and many full text book reviews. Both fiction and non-fiction books are reviewed.
Coverage dates: 1983 - Current.
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
Coverage dates: 1965 - present.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Coverage dates: 1500 - 1950.
Contains the full runs of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to represent 19th century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers. Collection also includes newspapers that lead particular political or social movements. The penny papers are also in the collection.
Coverage dates: 19th century.
Almost 500 journals, newspapers and magazines spanning the late 17th through early 21st centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature and drama, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Coverage dates: 1681 -2005.
Index of books, periodicals, government documents, and newspaper articles published in the 19th century. The acquisition of this database was made possible by a gift from the Friends of the TCU Library.
Coverage dates: 1801 - 1900.
The largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from the Caribbean. Covers Caribbean and Atlantic history, cultures, and daily life. It features more than 140 newspapers. Most of these newspapers were published in the English, but a number are in Spanish, French, and Danish. Countries represented: Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region, is included.
Coverage dates: 1718-1876.
Choice Reviews Online reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Updated monthly, thousands of items are reviewed each year by subject experts.
Coverage dates: 1998 - Current.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for Communication Studies.
Coverage dates: 1920s to Current.
Provides biographical information, critical sources for further research and bibliographical details on over 120,000 modern U.S. and international authors.
Coverage dates: 1900 - Current.
Provides more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical information, principal works, and critical sources for further research.
Coverage dates: 1997 - Current.
Digital version of the Daily Express newspaper.
Coverage dates: 1900 to present.
Primary source documents that cover topics in gender studies and includes topics such as the family, education, and consumer culture.
Coverage dates: 1450 - 1910.
Published in collaboration with the Royal Irish Academy, the Dictionary of Irish Biography is a comprehensive and authoritative reference work for Ireland. The dictionary outlines the careers at home and overseas of prominent people born in Ireland, north and south, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland.
Coverage dates: Ancient - 2002.
The essays of the Dictionary of Literary Biography outline the lives and careers of nearly 10,000 authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work.
Online versions of The International Directory of Little Magazines & Small Presses; The Directory of Poetry Publishers; The Directory of Small Press/Magazine Editors & Publishers; and The Small Press Record of Books in Print, which are all leading sources in small press information.
Coverage dates: Current.
Primary source books, pamphlets, and broadsides that describe life in early American history.
Coverage dates: 1631-1819.
Early English Books Online contains full text of over 125,000 titles, spanning 1473 to 1700, from Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, the Thomason Tracts, and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Works are from Great Britain, British North America, and texts in English printed elsewhere.
Coverage dates: Varies.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains searchable digitized materials for every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom and thousands of American works.
Coverage dates: 1701 - 1800.
This collection comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature.
Coverage dates: 1800-1920.
This interface allows you to search all of Gale literary resources, including Contemporary Authors, Literature Criticism Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Material includes critical essays and articles, biographical information, and critical sources for further research. You can also search a particular publication or electronic resource.
Coverage dates: Varies.
A visual, annotated record that brings together 53,000 pages of full text, photographs, songs for listening online, and other primary materials.
Coverage dates: 1865 - 1902.
Full color collection of the US (1867-present) and UK (1929-2015) editions of the fashion magazine. Includes searchable index.
Coverage dates: 1867 - Present.
Weekly American newspaper.
Coverage dates: 1857-1912.
Humanities Full Text includes many important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and indexing for almost 700 journals, 470 of them peer-reviewed, dating back to 1984. The database also includes original works of fiction, drama, and poetry.
Coverage dates: 1984 - present.
Indexes and abstracts over 2000 titles in the humanities from articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Coverage dates: 1925 - Current.
Complete digital edition (over 260,000 full color pages) of the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. Celebrated for its vivid pictorial commentary on global news, the ILN is a unique resource for the history of the last 150 years.
Coverage dates: 1842-2003.
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Coverage dates: 1951 - present.
The Irish Newspaper Archive contains over 6 million pages in over 500,000 issues of Irish newspapers.
Coverage dates: 1763 - Current.
This historical newspaper provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage dates: 1859 - 2016.
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes the poetry of, and biographical and critical essays about, 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842.
Coverage dates: 1768 - 1842.
This online refereed journal/database contains the full text of survey articles, short viewpoint articles, mini-reviews of books, reading recommendations and Blackwell's Companions. Literature Compass covers these areas of literature: Medieval, Renaissance, Shakespeare, 17th Century, 18th Century, Romanticism, The Victorians, 20th Century, and American.
Coverage dates: Medieval - Current.
Literature Criticism Online includes six Thompson-Gale series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, and Short Story Criticism. Volumes before 2007 are included, however, some early texts are not available online. These texts can be obtained in print from offsite storage.
Coverage dates: 1400-Current.
The digital Loeb Classical Library offers online editions of every book in the Loeb Classical Library in print. Greek and Latin texts are offered alongside English translations.
Coverage dates: Classical.
This digital collection of primary source documents brings to life the teeming streets of Victorian London. Materials include: Fast literature, posters & advertisements; penny fiction; cartoons; chapbooks; Swell's guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens; reform literature; and interactive mapping.
Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
Provides information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the database. Entries include the following information: editorial addresses, phone numbers, e-mail addresses, publication frequency, periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, submission guidelines, statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, and how many are submitted.
Primary source document collection covering the 19th century.
Coverage dates: 1790 - 1900.
Documents growth of children's literature during the 19th century and provides legal and sociological texts to contextualize this growth. Include texts from Europe, Asia, and North America. Social, moral, economic, and political questions are reflected in children's literature universally. Additionally, intricate illustrations and children's books from North Africa are included.
Coverage dates: 1800 to 1899.
Index of historical periodicals, newspapers, books, U.S. Congressional Record, U.S. and U.K. government documents, and U.S. patents.
Coverage dates: 1786 - 1930.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women. Material has been indexed for more thorough searching. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests, and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. Includes biographies.
Coverage dates: Colonial America - 1950.
A Social Enterprise run by scholars who are committed to making high-quality research available to readers around the world. We publish monographs and textbooks in all areas, and offer the academic excellence of a traditional press, with the speed, convenience and accessibility of digital publishing. All our books are available to read for free online.
Coverage dates: 2007-present.
Provides information about women's writings in the British Isles with entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies.
Coverage dates: Through Current.
Offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Coverage dates: Varies.
Past Masters is a collection of full text electronic editions in philosophy. The series also includes significant collections in political thought, religious studies, sociology, the history of science, economics, and classics.
Coverage dates: Medieval - Current.
Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest.
Coverage dates: 1950-1975.
Search all Gale British and American primary source documents from a single site. Includes newspaper and magazine archives, as well as pamphlets, letters, books, etc. Use the "Searching Databases" dropdown to focus on specific collections.
Coverage dates: 1500-2012.
Provides full-text to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Every journal is peer-reviewed.
Coverage dates: Varies.
The largest and most comprehensive resource on Modernism.
Coverage dates: 1890-1945.
Scribner Writers contains the full text for more than 1600 critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Entries include hyperlinks for cross-referencing, citation, and biographical information.
Coverage dates: Varies.
A yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. It makes all issues available. Survey publishes the best international scholarship in English. Each volume is devoted to a theme, play, or group of plays, and contains reviews of that year's textual and critical studies and of the year's major British performances.
Coverage dates: 1948 - Current.
Indexes more than 84,000 stories, and includes the full text of more than 1,600 stories.
Coverage dates: 1984 - Current.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice contains both primary source documents and secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography.
Coverage dates: 1490-2007.
Something About the Author Online provides comprehensive online access to all volumes ever of the series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
An indexed full-text/full-image database of TLS issues. One of the unique features of TLS Centenary Archive is the inclusion of the names of original contributors to pre-1974 issues.
Coverage dates: 1902 - 2010.
This historical newspaper provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage dates: 1838 - 2008.
Cover-to-cover scans of more than 1,500 World War I periodicals. Includes indexing of both publications and articles.
Coverage dates: 1914-1919.
Twayne's Authors Series contains the full text literary criticism about the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. Content is from nearly 600 books from the following three print series � United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors
Coverage dates: Varies.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry contains the full text of 50,000 poems by over 300 modern and contemporary poets. Twentieth-Century English Poetry contains the full text of poems by 283 English poets from 1900 to the present day.
Coverage dates: 1900 - Current.
First ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will contain more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this art form.
Coverage dates: 1960s to present.
Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day. Images are not included.
Coverage dates: 1985 - Current day.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900, is a subject bibliography of 50,000 publications intending to include every periodical and newspaper published on a regular basis, from daily to annually, in every language, within England during the time period.
Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
The WMR Project is a digitally sortable text archive consisting of over two hundred critical articles published by William Michael Rossetti in multiple Victorian periodicals spanning the years 1848 to 1909
Coverage dates: 1849-1909.
Unique content about some of modern history’s greatest activists and the movements they shaped.
Coverage dates: 1600 - 2015.
A project of the Brown University Women Writers Project, a long-term research project devoted to digitizing works of early modern women, the database includes approximately 350 writings by women in English (1400-1850). Texts are transcribed in full, including front and back matter.
Coverage dates: 1400 - 1850.
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced worldwide.
Coverage dates: 1968 - Current.

Ammie E. Harrison

email: a.harrison@tcu.edu
phone: 817.257.5338
  • TCU
    Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Faculty, staff and graduate students only
    Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Brite
    Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Clark Society
    Available to Clark Society members.
  • All patrons
    Available to all patrons.